HOUSE AND ESTATE

RESTORATION OF THE HOUSE

Tapestry Gallery Staircase

The staircase up to the Tapestry Gallery, built in 1583-5, was originally the main staircase, superceded in 1655 by the hanging staircase added in the south part of the house. Restoration work to the Tapestry Gallery staircase revealed original William Morris wallpaper behind the banisters.

^ Top

< Back | Next >

Work being carried out on the stairs leading to the Tapestry Gallery

Work being carried out on the stairs leading to the Tapestry Gallery

Enlarge image >

The stairs to the Tapestry Gallery after restoration work

The stairs to the Tapestry Gallery after restoration work

Enlarge image >